Publishers of Melbourne

Melbourne has a broad based publishing industry, with many independent and innovative publishing houses actively promoting Australian works and translating foreign works of literature as well as an extensive printing and graphics industry with over 450 printing companies since settlement.

 

Melbourne University Press www.mup.unimelb.edu.au

Michelle Anderson Books   www.hillofcontent.bizland.com

RMIT Publishing  www.rmitpublishing.com.au

Robert Andersen & Associates  www.abooks.com.au

Scribe Publications  www.scribepublications.com.au

Sleepers Publishing www.sleeperspublishing.com

Spinifex Publishing  www.spinifexpress.com.au

Text Publishing(Australian and foreign-owned  www.textpublishing.com.au

Overseas-owned publishers with their Australian head office in Melbourne

Cambridge University Press  www.cambridge.org/aus

Cengage (previously Thomson Learning)  www.cengage.com.au

Crown Content  www.crowncontent.com.au

Lonely Planet www.lonelyplanet.com

Macmillan Publishers Australia www.macmillan.com.au

Oxford University Press http://au.oup.com

Penguin/Pearson  www.penguin.com.au  www.pearsoned.com.au

Thames & Hudson   www.thaust.com.au

The Five Mile Press  www.fivemile.com.au

Arcade Books www.arcadepublications.com

Australian and overseas-owned publishers with head offices outside Melbourne, but with a strong Melbourne presence

Allen & Unwin (Australian owned, Sydney HO but all children’s publishing done from Melbourne office) www.allenandunwin.com

Hachette Livre (French owned, Sydney HO, but all children’s books published in Melbourne (Lothian) office www.hha.com.au

John Wiley (USA owned, Brisbane HO, but all non fiction published from Melbourne in (Wrightbooks) office) www.johnwiley.com.au

Learning Federation/Curriculum Corporation (Federal Government owned, all publishing done from Melbourne office) www.curriculum.edu.au

McGraw Hill (USA owned, Sydney HO but majority primary school material published in Melbourne (Mimosa) office) www.mcgraw-hill.com.au

Pan Macmillan (German owned Sydney HO, but strong editorial/ sales presence in Melbourne  www.panmacmillan.com.au

Comments are closed.